Thinking Off

by Kristie LeVangie

When a friend first told me about this topic, which was on a Strange Sex episode (she’s addicted to this show now), I was taken aback. I mean Barbara Carrellas claims she can orgasm simply by thinking about it. She calls it “thinking off.”

Intrigued, I went to find out more.

I found out that this idea isn’t exactly “new.” Masters & Johnson researchers were linking the power of thought with sexuality in the early 1970s. And it makes sense. Women especially associate emotion with sex. And fellow blogger, Brian David Phillips admits to not having witnessed directly the technique of Carrellas, but states, his “impression is that it is not really anything all that new in that hypnotists and tantra practitioners have been doing that sort of things for at least a few centuries and in the past fifty or so years the hypnotists have been getting very good at their own approaches.”

So I, of course, had to try it.

The first time I tried in bed. It was 2 o’clock in the morning. I couldn’t sleep. The household was settled. “As good a time as any,” I summized.

I tried to summon the energy in my body like she suggests to do, and I did feel a stir.

But no climax ever came…well, until I ended up masturbating instead of letting the energy fester.

The next time I tried to do it in the bathtub.

 

Again, no orgasmic release…until I ended up masturbating instead of letting the energy fester…

In fact, I masturbated a lot this week.

I feel like a failure.

I imagine some Zen Buddha state of mind that I must somehow master to be able to perform this parlour trick.

I’m not giving up.

Who thinks this is even possible?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

