RECIPE: Summer Tuna Salad

I am a lover of tuna, especially tuna salad.  But mayo is horrible for you.  So I’m trying to give it up.

Since the low carb diet, I’ve been getting my fixx for tuna by opening a can for breakfast, grabbing a plastic fork, and diving in without accoutrement.

So when I found this recipe in a Low Carb cookbook my mother lent me from her vast library, I was ecstatic!

Not only is it healthy and delicious, it’s gorgeous with vibrant colors.

Summer Tuna Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of diced, skinned cucumber
  • 1/2 cup of orange bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup of diced onion
  • 1/4 cup of finely cut fresh parsley
  • 8 cherry tomatoes, cut to your liking
  • 2 cans of tuna
  • 2 TBSP wine vinegar (I used Pomegranate Red Wine Vinegar to up the antioxidant value in this dish)
  • A dash of Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

This makes about 4 servings, but due to the low carb nature, we just split the recipe and each took half for lunch.

You could also put this in multigrain bread, wraps or pitas for you non-Carb avoiders.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

