MUSIC REVIEW: Natalia Kills

by Kristie LeVangie

What happens when you take a rich little teenage actress, strip away her money, dishevel her home life, imprison her father, and move her to a new city with only her talent?

She runs away from it all and starts the fuck over.

Some women you just can’t hold down.

“The minute I moved out when I was 14 and I ran away from home, I decided I could be whoever I wanted to be, and that I could be myself and I didn’t want to be an actress anymore,” Kills said in a 2013 interview with Stuff Magazine.

It wasn’t long after that this self-prescribed perfectionist found music, and we are all the better for it.

In September 2012, Kills released her latest compilation, Trouble.  I now blast her song, Problem (from this same album), from my car speakers and firmly believe it is THE new anthem for bad girls everywhere.

I got your name
Hanging from my chain…
Don’t you wanna claim
My body like a vandal?
You got the cure
Underneath your shirt…
Don’t you wanna save this
Dirty little damsel?
Got my mink coat falling on the
Motel floor… you’re on the bed
Wolf whistling louder louder
Your lips smudging all my
Make up… kicking both my heels off
Come and pin me down.

Natalia seems to have funneled her angst and experience into prophetic lines with a driving beat that makes you want to fuck something…or break something.

The arrangements in her music are unexpected and surprising.  They run the lines of Lady Gaga, Gwen Stefani or Rihanna, but her lyrics come from a deeper, more troubled place.  Dare I say…a more powerful place.  Let’s face it, she oozes feminine confidence and “minxiness”.  Check out these overtly sexual lyrics from her song Rabbit Hole off the same album:

‘Cause I eat boys like a cannibal
Fuck hard, howl at the moon like an animal
Eat me, drink me, straight down the rabbit hole
White lies, white lines, straight down the rabbit hole

Trouble is only this English artist’s second album, and it’s progression from her first one, Perfectionist.  I want to call it now.  You may not know the name Natalia Kills, but you sure will soon.

Check out her latest album on iTunes, Spotify, or your favorite music app, and tell me you aren’t chanting, “That girl is a Goddamn problem.”

It’s infectious I tell you.

Infectious.

One comment

Leave a Reply

