MUSIC REVIEW: Far East Movement

by Kristie LeVangie


It is my goal here at Libidacoria Magazine to supply you with the sickest tunes for your online music playlists, and today I is no exception.  Today I bring you a song that will make you want to crank your stereo into overdrive, roll down your windows, pull on those shades, stick your arm out the window, and just bob your head to the “motherfuckin’ ill”ness of the beats.

Who are they? you ask.  Let’s see if any of this rings a bell.

  • This is the same group that brought us the mega hit, “Like a G6” in late 2010.
  • Their first emergence into the limelight was in The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift when their song “Round Round” was featured in the movie.
  • They have the distinction of being the 1st Asian-American group to earn a #1 hit on the Billboard Top 100 in the U.S.
  • Their second album, Animal, released in 2008 featured collaborations with Bruno Mars, Wiz Kahlifa, and The Stereotypes, among others, and off this same album, “Girls on the Dance Floor” was a featured song in Get Him to the Greek, “So You Think You Can Dance“, and “CSI: Miami.”
  • They opened for Lady Gaga on the Japanese leg of The Monster Ball Tour in 2010 and later with Rihanna and Calvin Harris in 2011 and with Lil Wayne on his I Am Still Music tour.
  • On their Free Wired album (the first major album released since signing with Cherrytree Records, they worked with artists such as Keri Hilson, Lil Jon, Snoop Dogg, Natalia Kills, Koda Kumi, and Ryan Tedder from OneRepublic.
  • They performed “If I Was You (OMG)” at the 2011 Billboard Music Awards with Snoop Dogg, and their other top 10-smash “Rocketeer” at NBA All-Star Weekend.

This group is made up of four members: Kev Nish (Kevin Nishimura), Prohgress (James Roh), J-Splif (Jae Choung), and DJ Virman (Virman Coquia).  The three original members (Nish, Prohgress, and J-Splif) grew up in the Koreatown area of Downtown Los Angeles and went to high school together.  They began their career as “Emcees Anonymous” but later changed the band name after creating a song by the same name.  In the early days, they harnessed the power of social media and performed in local clubs and at local events in and around LA, including an event they called, “Movementality” in 2003 that featured 10 different performances with all proceeds going to a local youth drug rehab center.    

What does the band think about their latest release?

According to Kev Nish, their latest album, Dirty Bass, is “LA electro-rap meets Miami booty shake meets Dutch house and the lifestyle that embodies that. “You don’t need a fancy whip, but as long as your stereo is bumping, everything’s alright.”

Indeed…everything IS alright.  Enjoy and add to your playlists everywhere!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s