INTERVIEW: Dr. Martha Tara Lee

Dr. Martha Tara Lee

Today, we feature an interview with sexologist, Dr. Martha Tara Lee.  Dr. Lee is doing amazing things in Singapore educating people about sexuality and counseling individuals with sex-related issues.  Dr. Lee is a woman who looked out into the world, identified a problem and stepped up to do something about it.  We are honored to have the opportunity to interview her this week for Libidacoria Magazine.

Dr. Martha Tara Lee

What do you do: Sexuality coaching and sexuality educational programs online and face-to-face

Official website: http://www.eroscoaching.com

 

How did you find yourself here? What’s your story?

I worked in corporate communications for eight years, before starting and running a non-profit for two years. When the non-profit closed down, I realized I wanted to continue being in a helping profession but as a business. During that time in Singapore, there was a reported rise in teenage pregnancy and the sexual transmitted infections rate. It made me angry. In fact, I was so bothered; I couldn’t sleep. I began to realize it wasn’t just the bad news, but the lack of good that bugged me. I questioned why sex was never talked about in positive ways. I asked myself if I could become trained to be some kind of sexuality counselor to help more people in a more specific field. After I did more research, I realized what I really wanted to be was a sexologist – where I saw private clients as well as ran sexuality education events. That led me to making several trips to San Francisco to complete my doctorate in human sexuality.

How does one get into this profession?

Pursue a Master’s or Doctorate in human sexuality in a university – if offered in their country.

Where do you get your inspiration?

Everything. I follow the work of leaders, coaches, and fellow sexologists. I read widely, including many topics outside of my field.

What 3 people have influenced you most? Why?

My parents have and continue to influence me a lot. They gave me life and did their best as parents in their own way, and I am grateful for everything they have done for me.

 Have you embraced technology or are you still a pen and paper writer?

I am very active on social media, and have launched several online training programs such as Sex Jumpstart for Couples; Ready, Get Sex, Go for guys who want to gain ejaculation control; and Sex Possible for ladies who suffer from vaginismus.


Love-Sex-everything-front-cover-page-001What was your moment—the moment you realized you “made” it?

I am not sure what “made” it means exactly but I suppose when I published my book, Love, Sex and Everything In-Between, it was definitely a dream come true and a major milestone for me.

What’s your cure for creative blockage?

Exercise and meditation.

What’s your preferred drink?

Hot chocolate with soy milk.

What’s your sexiest turn-on?

Soft caresses.

Name one completely useless thing you’re really good at.

Sleeping. I can sleep anytime, anywhere – even while standing.

How do you turn off your job and maintain a personal life?

My work is challenging because I not only work with clients who come in with all kinds of sexual issues and personal problems, but I am also an introvert. I have learned to manage my energy by spending plenty of time restoring my nerves through exercise, meditation, and learning about nutrition and being more mindful of what I eat. I am also more conscious and deliberate about who I spend time with, and what I do. For instance, I am drawn to watching movies that have happy endings, and only hanging out with my friends who are spiritual and whom I care deeply about.

If you could go back, would you do it again or take another path? And what would that look like you think?

No, I won’t take any other path.

 

 

To learn more about  Dr. Lee, visit her official website at http://www.eroscoaching.com.  You can also follow her on Facebook and on Twitter, and like her Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/drmarthataralee.

 

Leave a Reply

